♭Order of The Flats♭

As illustrated above, the flat symbols in the key signature will always appear (without exception) in the following order:  
B♭, E♭, A♭, D♭, G♭, C♭, F♭

It’s a good idea to memorize this order.  All music has some configuration of sharps or flats in the key signature with the exception of songs written in C major/A minor.  When you know the flat order, you don’t have to take the time to read lines and spaces to figure out which notes need to be lowered a half step.   For instance, if you see 4 flats in the key signature, you should automatically know that B♭, E♭, A♭, D♭are the flats represented.

Another important fact to be aware of is that the order of the flats is the exact reverse of the order of the sharps.

You may also find this link helpful:
Order of The Sharps
Music Terms & Symbols


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s